Elmore JAMES – The Sky Is Crying 1965

Elmore JAMES – The Sky Is Crying 1965
SSR LP 7002

Blues

Even if you’ve never heard Elmore James, you know his music. His passionate vocals and guitar work (particularly his signature slide guitar lick for “Dust My Broom”) virtually provided the blueprint for the modern blues rock movement on both sides of the Atlantic. James’s gripping style is clearly echoed in the sounds of the Rolling Stones, the Yardbirds, the Allman Brothers, and Eric Clapton, to name a mere handful. For anyone not familiar with the source material, James’s work can be revelatory. This excellent set collects his most memorable recordings, including “I Can’t Hold Out, “Done Somebody Wrong,” “Shake Your Moneymaker,” and, of course, “Dust My Broom.” As can be heard, James didn’t just suggest the sound of rock, he rocked out himself.
By Steve Futterman.
**
A1. The Sky Is Crying 2:47
A2. Dust My Broom 2:54
A3. I Held My Baby 2:50
A4. Fine Little Mama 2:32
A5. Bobbie’s Rock 2:09
A6. I Can’t Stop Lovin’ You 2:33
B1. I Done Somebody Wrong 2:30
B2. Rollin’ and Tumblin’ 2:30
B3. One Way Out 2:25
B4. My Bleeding Heart 3:05
B5. I’m Worried 2:44
B6. Standing at the Crossroads 2:56
**


NoPassword
*
DLink
*
Please Donate

Leave a Reply

