Billy COBHAM – The Art Of Three, Live In Japan 2003

Billy COBHAM – The Art Of Three, Live In Japan 2003


The Art of Three were a trio of all-stars (drummer Billy Cobham, pianist Kenny Barron, and bassist Ron Carter) assembled for a 2003 tour of Japan, with two recordings made on consecutive nights at the Hyatt Regency Osaka in Japan. This second volume primarily focuses on familiar standards and landmark jazz compositions, with all three musicians soloing with their typical strength and engaging in lively ensemble work as well. A powerful interpretation of Thelonious Monk’s “I Mean You” is a fitting introduction to the second night’s concert, with each man sharing the spotlight equally. Carter’s delicate “New Waltz” is a subtle masterpiece, while Barron’s “And Then Again” is a playful bluesy calypso. Wrapping the evening is a dramatic take of “‘Round Midnight.” While the music is enjoyable, the engineering is a tad frustrating in spots, with the bass being so bright in the mix that it creates a bit of distortion.
By Ken Dryden, All Music Guide.
Kenny Barron- Piano
Ron Carter- Bass
Billy Cobham- Drums
01. Mean You 7:43
02. Bouncing with Bud 7:33
03. Autumn Leaves 9:46
04. Out of Nowhere 7:40
05. Body & Soul 12:21
06. Stella by Starlight 10:02
07. Round Midnight 10:58
08. Tour de Force 8:26

Please Donate


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: