Clark TERRY – Live At The Village Gate 1990

Clark TERRY – Live At The Village Gate 1990


Flugelhornist Clark Terry, three weeks shy of his 70th birthday at the time of this live performance, sounds very much at the peak of his powers throughout Live at the Village Gate. Teamed up with old friend Jimmy Heath, who doubles on tenor and soprano, pianist Don Friedman, bassist Marcus McLauren and drummer Kenny Washington (altoist Paquito D’Rivera guests on “Silly Samba”), Terry performs eight little-known originals. The tunes are all fairly basic, but they inspire these talented musicians to some of their best playing. The hard-swinging music, which includes a trumpet-drums duet on “Brushes & Brass” and some singing from the audience on “Hey Mr. Mumbles,” is quite enjoyable, and among the most accessible type of jazz.
By Scott Yanow. AMG.
With a trumpet in one hand and flugelhorn in the other, this serious artist and comedic vocalist blew his way through the orchestras of Count Basie, Duke Ellington, Quincy Jones, and NBC-TV into international stardom, Phi Mu Alpha Sinfonia Fraternity, two honorary Ph.D.’s, the Kansas City Jazz Hall of Fame, the front rank of the world’s jazz educators and the chair of the Thelonious Monk Institute of Jazz Academic Council.
On December 14, 1990, Clark turned 70, and told a National Public Radio interviewer I’m so grateful for being able to play and for the audiences that come to hear me that everytime I take my horn out of the case I can’t help but think to myself this might be the last time I will ever have a chance to play. So everytime I try to play to the best of my ability.
That’s what makes CLARK TERRY LIVE AT THE VILLAGE GATE so special.
By Marc Crawford.
Clark Terry- (Trumpet, Flugelhorn);
Jimmy Heath- (Soprano Sax, Tenor Sax);
Paquito d’Rivera- (Alto Sax);
Don Friedman- (Piano);
Kenny Washington- (Drums);
Marcus McLauren- (Bass).
01. Top and Bottom   5:10
02. Keep, Keep, Keep on Keepin’ On   6:01
03. Silly Samba   8:49
04. Pint of Bitters   8:30
05. Sheba   6:35
06. Brushes and Brass   3:20
07. Simple Waltz   9:12
08. Hey, Mr. Mumbles   11:04

Please Donate


One Response to “Clark TERRY – Live At The Village Gate 1990”

  1. thank you very much

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: