Tom PRINCIPATO – Smokin' 1985

Tom PRINCIPATO – Smokin’  1985


Washington, D.C.-based blues rocker Tom Principato made his solo debut in 1986 with Smokin’, the first in a series of independent releases that also included 1988’s I Know What You’re Thinking, 1990’s In Orbit and the live Blazing Telecasters and 1992’s Tip of the Iceberg. After a three-year recording hiatus, he resurfaced with In the Clouds; Really Blue followed in 1998. Both Live and Kickin’ and Not One Word appeared in 2000.
By Jason Ankeny, All Music Guide.
Tom Principato has spent the last 40+ years as a guitarist and singer based in his hometown of Washington, D.C. In the 1970’s, Tom was leader of the legendary band Powerhouse, an East Coast phenomenom which released an album “Night Life” to critical acclaim. Tom also did a one year stint with Geoff Muldaur and recorded an album I Ain’t Drunk (Hannibal/Island Records 1980) with the band Geoff Muldaur and His Bad Feet, members of which included Andy Stein (Asleep At The Wheel), Mark Kazanoff (Earl King) and Sarah Brown (Lou Ann Barton).
Tom has also done brief stints with various acts including Billy Price and the Keystone Rhythm Band, Big Mama Thornton, Johnny Adams, Sunnyland Slim, James Montgomery, and a group called the Assassins with Jimmy Thackery, former guitarist with the Nighthawks. Tom appears on two albums with the Assassins, No Previous Record (1986) and Partners in Crime (1987), which won a “Wammy Award”.
In 1984 Tom began a solo career, notably recording a live album with the late Washington guitar legend Danny Gatton entitled Blazing Telecasters. This album was considered by The National Academy of Recorded Arts and Sciences (NARAS) for a Grammy Nomination. Since 1984 Tom has recorded eleven solos albums as well as two collaborations.
Bill Moore- Trumpet
Christina Bloodworth- Horn, Vocals (Background)
Christine Thomas- Vocals (Background), Horn
Clark Matthews- Harmony Vocals, Vocals, Drums
Dave Brink- Arranger, Horn Arrangements, Sax (Baritone)
Gary Moore- Trumpet
Ken Hedberg- Trombone
Kim Wilson- Vocals, Harmonica
Robbie Magruder- Drums
Scott Young- Horn Arrangements, Sax (Tenor)
Semon “Tiny” Holmes- Vocals (Background), Horn
Steve Wolf- Vocals, Harmony Vocals, Guitar (Bass), Producer, Bass
Tom Lepson- Vocals (Background), Organ (Hammond), Harmony Vocals, Organ
Tom Principato- Producer, Bass, Horn Arrangements, Arranger, Vocals, Main Performer, Guitar, Guitar (Steel)
01. Slipped, Tripped, Fell in Love (4:04)
02. My Baby Worships Me (2:41)
03. Blue Mood (3:55)
04. Lipstick, Powder & Paint (3:40)
05. Fish Fry (3:30)
06. Here I Come (Back from a Taste of Your Love) (4:21)
07. Talkin’ Trash (3:45)
08. I’m on Fire (3:18)
09. Well Oh Well (2:56)
10. Hard Livin’ (4:05)

DLink RS
DLink MU
Please Donate


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: