Wild Bill DAVIS – Wild Bill Davis at Birdland 1955

Wild Bill DAVIS – Wild Bill Davis at Birdland 1955


With the dynamic, swirling sounds of his Hammond B-3 organ, Wild Bill Davis provided a bridge from the big band swing of the 1930s and ’40s to the organ-driven R&B of the 1950s and early ’60s. Together with guitarist Floyd Smith and drummer Chris Columbus, Davis set the framework for the jazz organ combo sound.
Wild Bill Davis- (Hammond Organ, Vocal)
Floyd Smith- (Guitar)
Chris Columbus- (Drums)
01. Lullaby Of Birdland (G. Shearing) (3:17)
02. Jumpin’ At The Woodside (C. Basie) (5:21)
03. April In Paris (from Walk A Little Faster) (V. Duke, E. Y. Harburg) (4:54)
04. Ooh-Ah-De-De-De (C. Columbus) (5:14)
05. Things Ain’t What They Used to Be  Linger Awhile (M. Ellington, T. Persons  V. Rose, H. Owens) (6:37)
06. Make No Mistake (W. B. Davis, J. Collins) (3:58)
07. Indian Summer (V. Herbert, A. Dubin) (3:09)
08. Without A Song (V. Youmans, E. Eliscu, B. Rose) (3:47)
09. Chicken Gumbo (Merrick, Willoughby) (3:47)
10. Night Train (J. Forrest, L. Simpkins, O. Washington) (4:53)
11. I Ain’t Feeling No Good/Linger Awhile (W. B. Davis, F. Smith, C. Columbus  V. Rose, H. Owens) (4:13)

Please Donate


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: