Chris Thomas KING – Red Mud Sessions 1998

Chris Thomas KING – Red Mud Sessions 1998


Red Mud the CD by Chris Thomas King demonstrates why he is a rising new star of the blues. Although he is neither young or new at thirty eight and having put in his apprenticeship touring with his father Tabby Thomas. During this time he certainly developed a good feel for the spirit of the blues and aptly demonstrates this on the cd. King is both a skillful guitarist and songwriter. On the cd of the fourteen songs, nine are originals. You can definitely feel the delta ooze on the title track of Red Mud. The cuts of his fathers songs Hoodoo Party and Bus Station Blues with vocals by Tabby Thomas are wonderful.
By  Booknblueslady.
Red Mud Sessions is a tweaked and reordered reissue of 1998’s Red Mud, which is out of print in its original form. This version of the record omits two tracks that were a poor fit both musically and conceptually with the rest of the album, covers of songs by Chris Thomas King’s father, Tabby Thomas, “Hoodoo Party” and “Bus Station Blues,” which featured the elder Thomas on electric lead. Those two songs were entertaining enough, but in the context of Red Mud, they stuck out like a pair of cheeseburgers on a platter of ribs. Red Mud Sessions collects the rest of the album, which is a strictly acoustic solo recording of King and a battery of vintage resonator and metal-top guitars. King makes the connection plain by including solid but unexceptional versions of Son House’s “Death Letter Blues” and a pair of Robert Johnson tracks, but even the original material sounds like King is deliberately channeling the early country blues of the ’30s. It’s unsurprising that not long after this album was recorded, the formerly progressive-oriented King was tapped to play a ’30s-vintage bluesman in the film O Brother, Where Art Thou? Those who already have the original Red Mud don’t need to buy Red Mud Sessions, but it’s an enjoyable listen to anyone who liked King’s role in that film.
By Stewart Mason, All Music Guide.
Tabby Thomas- Guitar, Vocals,
Darryl White- Drums,
Chris Thomas King- Bass, Guitar, Harmonica, Percussion, Strings, Keyboards, Vocals, Talk Box,
David Tarantolo- Organ
01.Red Mud (4:09)
02.It Ain’t One Thing, It’s Two (3:58)
03.Soon This Morning Blues (3:48)
04.Come On In My Kitchen (4:23)
05.I’m On Fire (3:30)
06.Sinking Feeling (3:01)
07.Alive (3:42)
08.Dark Cloud (3:18)
09.Hoodoo Party (3:42)
10.Rambling On My Mind (3:04)
11.Wanna Die with A Smile On My Face (2:52)
12.Death Letter Blues (5:26)
13.Bus Station Blues (4:04)
14.Raining Angels (4:57)

DLink RS
DLink MU
Please Donate


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: