Archive for the Allman Brothers Band Category

Allman Brothers Band – Wipe The Windows, Check The Oil, Dollar Gas 1976

Posted in Allman Brothers Band, BLUES on December 10, 2010 by whoisthemonk

Allman Brothers Band – Wipe The Windows, Check The Oil, Dollar Gas 1976


This live album was released by Capricorn Records largely as a way of raising money in a hurry, but it fares surprisingly well musically. The 1973-1974 Allman Brothers Band featured here is the one that most fans actually saw, since most listeners didn’t discover them or get to their concerts until after the deaths of Duane Allman and Berry Oakley. Wipe the Windows isn’t a landmark release like the Fillmore tapes — a collection of rock’s greatest guitar albums could be complete without it. But no Allman Brothers Band fan should pass up Wipe the Windows, which is a most solid live album, and, in particular, a better representation of the songs off of Brothers and Sisters and Win, Lose or Draw than the original studio versions. “Southbound,” “Ramblin’ Man,” “Jessica,” and, to a lesser degree, “Wasted Words” come off exceptionally well. This second-generation band, with Dickey Betts as the sole lead guitar and Gregg Allman and Chuck Leavell sharing the keyboards, also performs a preconceived version of “In Memory of Elizabeth Reed” — they could never spark more fire than the version from the Fillmore, so they transform it into a moodier piece with more space for the keyboards to open up. Compiled from shows in New Orleans, San Francisco, Bakersfield, Oakland, and Watkins Glen (New York).
By Bruce Eder, All Music Guide.
By 1976, it had been five years since the release of the Allman Brothers’ breakthrough (and all-time classic) release LIVE AT THE FILLMORE EAST. With the band calling it quits, the Allmans record company decided this would be the perfect time to issue a follow-up–WIPE THE WINDOWS, CHECK THE OIL, DOLLAR GAS.
With original members Duane Allman and Berry Oakley deceased, the mid-’70s Allmans line-up was patched up by bassist Lamar Williams and second keyboardist Chuck Leavell, helping to show that the group still could work their in-concert magic. With In Memory of Elizabeth Reed the only song from the FILLMORE release to reappear here, such post-Duane gems as Jessica and Ramblin’ Man shine in a live setting, making WIPE THE WINDOWS a worthy addition to any Allman fan’s album collection.
Gregg Allman -(Vocals, Guitar, Organ, Clavinet);
Richard Betts- (Vocals, Guitar, Slide Guitar);
Chuck Leavell- (Piano, Electric Biano, Background Vocals);
Lamarr Williams- (Electric Bass);
Butch Trucks- (Drums, Tympani, Percussion);
Jaimoe (Drums, Percussion).
01.Introduction by Bill Graham 1:05
02.Wasted Words 5:10
03.Southbound 6:03
04.Ramblin’ Man 7:09
05.In Memory of Elizabeth Reed 17:19
06.Ain’t Wastin’ Time No More 5:41
07.Come and Go Blues 5:05
08.Can’t Lose What You Never Had 6:43
09.Don’t Want You No More 2:48
10.It’s Not My Cross to Bear 5:23
11.Jessica 9:05

Continue reading