Archive for the Bobby HACKETT Category

Bobby HACKETT – Blues With A Kick 1958

Posted in Bobby HACKETT, JAZZ on November 23, 2010 by whoisthemonk

Bobby HACKETT – Blues With A Kick 1958


BOBBY HACKETT Blues With A Kick (Original 1959 US 12-track stereo LP on a ‘rainbow rim’ Capitol label, staging the trumpeter’s blues roots against a stereo curtain of rich strings conducted by Stan Applebaum. Housed ina pasted picture sleeve in fine condition, the vinyl excellent with just one or two light cosmetic marks not deep enough to affect play – a gem!.
Bobby Hackett- Trumpet, Cornet
Dave McKenna- Piano
Nicky Tagg- Piano, organ
John Giuffrida, Milt Hinton- Bass
Joe Porcaro- Drums
Harry Breuer, Phil Kraus- vibraphon, Percussion
Stan Applebaum- Conductor of String section with Nine Violins, Two Violas and Two Cellos
A1. Good-bye Blues   (McHugh-Fields-Johnson)   2:32
A2. Weary Blues   (Greene-Cates-Matthews)   2:49
A3. Sugar Blues    (C. Williams-L. Fletcher)   3:13
A4. Blues In The Night   (J. Mercer-H. Arlen)   3:32
A5. Baker’s Keyboard Blues   (B. Hackett)   2:51
A6. Wang Wang Blues   (Mueller-Busse-Johnson)   2:38
B1. Limehouse Blues   (P. Braham-D. Furber)   2:41
B2. Davenport Blues   (B. Beiderbecke)   2:57
B3. Blues In My Heart   (B. Carter-I. Mills)   2:44
B4. Alcoholic Blues   (E. Laska-A. Von Tilzer)   2:45
B5. Bye Bye Blues   (Bennett-Gray-Hamm-Lown)   1:22
B6. Blues With A Kick   (B. Hackett-S. Applebaum)   2:53

Continue reading