Archive for the Canned HEAT Category

Canned HEAT – (Kings of the Boogie) Dog House Blues 1982

Posted in BLUES, Canned HEAT on December 23, 2010 by whoisthemonk

Canned HEAT – (Kings of the Boogie) Dog House Blues 1982
H.B. 90135


Formed by three avid blues record collectors, Canned Heat reformatted the sound of those beloved old 78s into ragged electric guitar boogies that fit the gestalt of the Woodstock generation. Guitarist and harmonica player Alan Wilson, singer Bob Hite, and guitarist Henry Vestine took their record collecting seriously, lifting the quill section from Texas songster Henry Thomas’ 1920s recording of “Bull Doze Blues” note for note to form the intro to “Going Up the Country,” one of Canned Heat’s most enduring songs. At its best, Canned Heat translated an enthusiasm for old blues into a bright, radio-friendly history lesson, and at its worst, it collapsed into being just another white blues boogie band. This set, originally released in 1981, was the last Canned Heat studio album to feature involvement from Hite, who was found dead from an apparent drug overdose on April 5 of that year, and it was also the last studio effort by the band for some seven years. It’s actually a fairly energetic album, with the opener, “Kings of the Boogie,” a cover of “So Fine,” and a grinding “Dog House Blues” being the highlights, although nothing here will change anyone’s take on this fairly one-dimensional band. Kings of the Boogie has also been released under the title Dog House Blues.
By Steve Leggett, All Music Guide.
Featuring the final recordings with Bob Hite alongside new members, “Kings Of The Boogie” (it’s original title) is clearly a transitional album. Many felt Canned Heat just couldn’t possibly carry on with the same importance and vitality without Hite, and this release did little to dispel those notions. Not because it’s a weak album, it’s absolutely not; it’s because of the emotion tied to the late Hite. Newcomers to the Heat will probably feel the Hite-involved cuts are a notch below the other ones, but to the hardcore longtime fans such an opinion would be considered blasphemy. And this album didn’t reach many new fans due to crap distribution and basically played to the following who didn’t pay much attention to the new members as they mourned Bob’s untimely passing.
A shame, really, as this album is actually better than any of the preceding several Heat studio albums: it is a lot more energetic and vital and set a new standard for the ongoing Canned Heat. It would be a long seven years before the band would return with an all-new studio album, but in that time Fito and crew had won over the old fans and attracted droves of new ones to the boogie. Canned Heat not only survived, they got better. To this day “Kings Of The Boogie” or “Dog House Blues” (or whatever else it may be called) is still somewhat lost in the shuffle. But it’s the sound of an enormously gifted band picking up the pieces and should not be ignored.
Fito de la Parra- Drums
Mike Halby- Guitar, Vocals
Bob Hite- Vocals, Harmonica
Rick Kellog- Harb, Vocals
Ernie Rodriguez- Bass, Vocals
Henry Vestine- Guitar
A1 Kings of the Boogie   3:03
A2 Stoned Bad Street Fighting Man   3:33
A3 So Fine   3:15
A4 You Can’t Get Close to Me   3:29
A5 Hell’s Just Down the Road   3:39
B1 I Was Wrong   3:46
B2 Little Crystal   4:16
B3 Dog House Blues   2:50
B4 Sleepy Hollow Baby   3:19
B5 Chicken Shack   2:45
Continue reading


Canned Heat – The Boogie House Tapes 1967-1976

Posted in BLUES, Canned HEAT on November 22, 2010 by whoisthemonk

Canned Heat – The Boogie House Tapes 1967-1976
2000 Issue.


“In the town of Overijse,Belgium there is a very special place called the Boogie House”.  This is a place where Canned Heat used to jam with various musicoligists analyzing they’re concoctions. What we get are some very inspired playing by the Heat that shows their utter love and respect for the blues. They never treat it as a joke.
Featuring the last four bottleneck slide recordings from Alan “Blind Owl” Wilson’s hospital bed following a suicide attempt in 1971, Disc One of the Boogie House Tapes Vol. 2 gives listeners a final insight into the tortured genius who re-taught delta blues grandfather Son House how to play guitar like Son House. Wilson’s ghostly high vocal intonations and perfect vibrato on “Sloppy Drunk” and “Death Bed Blues” are literally frightening to listen to, while “Blind Melon” illustrates his complete mastery of open tunings. The record also features the last roadhouse recording of the mountainous blues shouter and bandleader Bob “The Bear” Hite bellowing “Hell’s On Down The Line” in 1981, days before he collapsed on stage and died of a drug-related heart attack. The collection of rare recordings was assembled from the vaults of drummer/producer Fito de la Parra and Walter “Dr. Boogie” de Paduwa who provides two live shows from the early 1990’s with the trademark buzz of original guitarist Henry “Sunflower” Vestine on the second disc.
By Brett Lemke.
German edition released in 1998, maybe a bootleg or a counterfeit item filled with early recordings from Canned Heat. Actually, the tune “House of Blue Lights” was originally released on their album “Human Conditions” from 1978, and was recently compiled  in the superb 2CDs-set “THE BOOGIE HOUSE TAPES 1967-1976 Vol.2” (2004, on Ruf Records, which label maybe had released in 1998 the same CD you collected), featuring live and studio recordings, commercials, funny bits, Alan Wilson’s last recordings and performances of different line-ups from the 70s, 80s and 90s, thanks to Fito de la Parra,
drummer, producer and Canned Heat’s  survivor in charge. Regarding this special release, in the town of Overijse, Belgium, is a very special place called ‘The Boogie House’. It is not a public location, but the home of musicologist, radio personality Walter De Paduwa aka ‘Dr. Boogie’. He has turned his home into a private museum, dedicated to the preservation of Boogie music, in special to Canned Heat. This historical content from some of very old tapes was salvaged and mastered digitally for this release.
By Amarilis Gibeli.
Harvey Mandel- (Guitar), (Keyboards), (Vocals),
Ronnie Barron- (Piano), (Vocals),
Wolfman Jack- (Vocals), (Spoken Word),
Robert Lucas- (Harmonica), Robert Lucas (Vocals), Robert Lucas (Slide Guitar),
Larry Taylor- (Bass),
Henry Vestine- (Guitar), (Vocals),
Magic Dick- (Harmonica),
Mark Goldberg- (Bass),
Michael Halby- (Guitar),
Joel Scott Hill- (Guitar), (Vocals),
Bob Hite- (Vocals), (Bass),
Ernie Rodriguez- (Bass),
Adolfo de la Parra- (Drums),
Junior Watson- (Guitar),
Chris Morgan- (Guitar),
Alan Wilson- (Guitar), (Vocals),
James Thornbury- (Harmonica), James Thornbury (Vocals), (Slide Guitar),
Ron Shumake- (Bass),
Tony De La Barreda- (Bass),
Michael Halby- (Guitar),
Bob “The Bear” Hite- (Vocals).

Disc One
01. Reefer Blues  3:09
02. House of Blue Lights  3:20
03. Sleepin’ in the Ground  5:18
04. Caterpillar Crawl  2:10
05. D. Drone  4:42
06. These Boots Are Made For… (Studio Jokes)  1:17
07. Charokee Dance  2:30
08. Harley Davidson Blues  2:54
09. Good Bye for Now  4:04
10. Chicago Bound  3:53
11. On the Road Again  2:08
12. Human Condition  3:07
13. My Time Ain’t Long  4:38
14. London Blues  5:40
15. Future Blues  4:23
16. Move On Down the Road  1:41
17. Long Way From L.A.  3:47
18. Going up the Country  2:55
19. Let’s Work Together  4:09

Disc Two
01. Bullfrog Blues  5:10
02. Bob Speaks to the Audience  2:58
03. Pulling Hair Blues  9:28
04. You Know I Love You  6:34
05. I Love My Baby  10:29
06. Breathe Easy  7:51
07. Sore Back Blues  9:24
08. Shaken Boogie  10:46
09. Bring It On Home  8:55
10. Tu vas trop vite (Keep It Clean)  2:43

Continue reading