Archive for the Delbert McCLINTON Category

Delbert McCLINTON – Room to Breathe 2002

Posted in BLUES, Delbert McCLINTON on November 15, 2010 by whoisthemonk

Delbert McCLINTON – Room to Breathe 2002


ROOM TO BREATHE was nominated for the 2003 Grammy Awards for Best Contemporary Blues Album.

Forty years into a career that’s found him going from teaching a young John Lennon how to play harmonica to winning a 2002 Grammy for Best Contemporary …    Full DescriptionBlues Recording, Delbert McClinton continues his extraordinary journey with the stellar ROOM TO BREATHE. Roots-rock devotees will find plenty to feast on, ranging from the lush, B.B. King-flavored “Everything I Know About The Blues” and pounding fat-back rockabilly of “Blues About You Baby” to the organ-driven shuffle “Same Kind Of Crazy.”

Other entrees to feast on at this considerable buffet of tasty tunes are the stride-piano-soaked stroll “Ain’t Lost Nothin'” (featuring a ripping Kim Wilson harp solo), simmering funk of “The Rub,” Little Feat-like boogie of “Money Honey,” and groove-soaked jump-blues of “New York City.” The centerpiece of this wide-ranging outing is “Lone Star Blues,” a twangy all-star tip of the hat to Texas featuring the talents of Steve Earle, The Flatlanders, Guy Clark, Emmylou Harris, and Rodney Crowell. ROOM TO BREATHE adds another considerable notch to Delbert McClinton’s impressive output.
CD Universe.
Texas roadhouse veteran Delbert McClinton hit upon his masterful mix of country, blues, and R&B stylings decades ago, but it took the Grammy-winning 2001 release, Nothing Personal, to fully showcase his talents. Room to Breathe, once again benefiting from a diverse selection of original McClinton songs, updates and embellishes the approach with most of the same participants present. McClinton uses his classic blue-eyed-soul voice with full authority and more than a little eclecticism, bouncing through “Blues About You, Baby” with an almost Jerry Lee Lewis boogie feel, while infusing the snaky “Jungle Room” with laid-back nightclub coolness. “Ain’t Lost Nothin’,” cowritten with producer Gary Nicholson and harp hero Kim Wilson, is the purest blues expression, although the piano-led ballad “Everything I Know About the Blues,” a McClinton-Nicholson tune cowritten by Heartbreaker Benmont Tench, also works well. McClinton rocks through “Same Kind of Crazy,” gets funky on “The Rub,” and even conjures a distant Lynryd Skynyrd echo on the uptempo “Money Honey.” Yet his biggest effort is saved for the star-studded sing-along “Lone Star Blues,” a tribute to Texas complete with fiddle and pedal steel guitar and featuring an anthemic country chorus from a host of famous McClinton friends and fans.
By Michael Point.
When Delbert McClinton announces with his latest album that he has Room To Breathe, he sure ain’t kidding. After more than four decades of making music, McClinton is breathing freely with the confidence and energy of an artist who knows that he has mastered his game. Still basking in the glow of a new Grammy(r) Award, he has followed up what The Wall Street Journal declared his “best recording ever”  2001’s Nothing Personal, with a set that displays even greater muscle, smarts, charm and soul.
Delbert McClinton- (Vocals, acoustic & electric guitars, harmonica);
Todd Sharp- (Acoustic & electric guitars, baritone guitar, background vocals);
Gary Nicholson- (Acoustic guitar);
James Pennebaker- (Guitar, steel guitar, fiddle, background vocals);
Bill Campbell- (Guitar);
Kevin McKendree- (Piano, Wurlitzer piano, Hammond B-3 organ);
Mark Jordan- (Piano, Hammond B-3 organ);
Glen Worf- (Upright bass);
George Hawkins- (Bass);
Lynn Williams (Drums);
Steve Earle, Butch Hancock, Jimmie Dale Gilmore, Joe Ely, Emmylou Harris, Rodney Crowell, Billy Joe Shaver, Marcia Ball, Ray Benson, Guy Clark, Jessi Alexander, Dee Dee Day- (Background vocals).
01. Same Kind Of Crazy 4:04
02. Smooth Talk 3:49
03. Jungle Room 3:41
04. Everything I Know About The Blues 3:31
05. Blues About You Baby 3:00
06. Lone Star Blues 3:57
07. The Rub 3:15
08. Won’t Be Me 4:04
09. Don’t Want To Love You 3:00
10. Ain’t Lost Nothin’ 2:45
11. Money Honey 3:35
12. New York City 3:33

Continue reading