Archive for the Eddie HIGGINS Category

Nicole HENRY With Eddie HIGGINS Trio – Teach Me Tonight 2004

Posted in Eddie HIGGINS, JAZZ, Nicole HENRY on December 20, 2010 by whoisthemonk

Nicole HENRY With Eddie HIGGINS Trio – Teach Me Tonight 2004


An even deeper jazz set than Nicole Henry’s first album — recorded with the Eddie Higgins Trio, and done in a style that’s traditional, yet extremely soulful! There’s a sound here that reminds us a lot of Carmen Lundy — as Nicole’s singing jazz, but doing so in a mode that’s never draped with any of the torchy cliches of other singers — and which is as informed by a history of soul music as it is more standard influences from jazz. The recording quality is great — thanks to the top-shelf Venus Records standards — and titles include “Summer Wind”, “Angel Eyes”, “Young At Heart”, “Teach Me Tonight”, “Lover Come Back To Me”, “Cry Me A River”, and “Blame It On My Youth”.
From Dusty Groove.
I took a chance buying this CD as I had not heard Ms. Henry before, but I am a big Eddie Higgins fan. The trio provides excellent accompaniment as expected, and I enjoyed the tune selection. The vocal performance was good, but not exceptional. Ms. Henry seems more comfortable in the upper register, and her throat sometimes sounds tight, almost like nervousness. I liked the music more the second time through, which I thought was promising. At this time, Ms. Henry seems to lean more toward Whitney Houston than Ella, and may eventually find her niche in pop. Overall, a good effort and pleasant music that makes me curious about the direction Ms. Henry will take from here.
I first heard Nicole Henry sing at my church in Hollywood, FL. Her voice gave me chills as it was angelic and powerful. Since then I have been following her music and although I did not think she could get any better than the first time I heard her perform, to my amazement she does. Anyone who loves to be inspired by a pure vocalist with talent beyond ones imagination should at the very least listen to this amazing vocalist sing one song and after that I am sure you will want all of her albums.
By Tina M. Burns.
For the second week in a row, the CD collaboration with the Eddie Higgins Trio is #1 on Japan’s HMV Vocal Jazz Best Seller Chart. It also finds itself at #5 on the All-Around Jazz Best Seller Chart. (It debuted last week at #2.) A Venus Records release, this CD features Nicole Henry as vocalist, Eddie Higgins on piano, Jay Leonhardt on bass, and Joe Ascione on drums. “Teach Me Tonight” was recorded in NYC by producers Todd Barkan and Tetsuo Hara, and was released March 23, 2005 in Japan. The release is being reinforced with a 2-week, 10-city tour by Nicole Henry. Last night in Osaka, Japan, Nicole Henry wrapped the first leg of the tour with the Eddie Higgins Trio, and the upcoming week will find Henry with New York’s Janice Friedman on piano and a Japanese rhythm section.

This is the second CD Nicole Henry has released in Japan. The first CD, “The Nearness of You” (Banister Records, U.S./Norma Music, Japan) was Nicole’s debut as a solo artist. It peaked at #2 in Japan for four weeks, second only to Norah Jones, and it stayed in the top 10 sales chart for over four months. Stateside, “The Nearness of You” reached #27 on the Jazz Week radio chart. The past year created many special appearances for Henry including the Lincoln Center with the Juilliard Jazz Octet, as well as the Rainbow Room with the Cab Calloway Orchestra.

Once back in the U.S., Henry will return to the studio to record for a second release on Banister Records and will return to domestic performances. Expect the second Banister Records release in mid-August, as well as a return tour to Japan August 21.
From AAJ.
Nicole Henry- Vocal
Eddie Higgins- Piano
Jay Leonhart- Bass
Joe Ascione- Drums
01. Lover Come Back To Me (3:57)
02. Blue Skies (3:30)
03. Teach Me Tonight (4:39)
04. Blame It On My Youth (5:15)
05. I’ve Got You Under My Skin (3:43)
06. Angel Eyes (7:01)
07. Summer Wind (3:57)
08. Cry Me A River (6:00)
09. Night And Day (3:51)
10. You Don’t Know What Love Is (5:42)
11. ‘S Wonderful (3:33)
12. Young At Heart (3:37)
Continue reading


Eddie HIGGINS – You Don´t Know What Love Is 2003

Posted in Eddie HIGGINS, JAZZ on November 24, 2010 by whoisthemonk

Eddie HIGGINS – You Don´t  Know What Love Is 2003


Eddie Higgins has been on the jazz scene for a long time, but he seems to be a best-kept secret by those able to track down his various releases for independent labels in the U.S. or Japanese titles, such as this one from Venus. This 2003 session …    Full Descriptionfeatures the veteran purely as a soloist, performing a dozen of his favorite ballads. While most of them are time-tested standards such as the elegant “My Funny Valentine,” the shimmering “Beautiful Love,” or “Skylark” (with an Asian-sounding introduction that suggests the humor of its composer), there are some lesser-known gems as well. The bittersweet ballad “Yellow Days” hardly pops up on many jazz CDs, though Higgins’ richly textured arrangement should attract other musicians to it. Even though one doesn’t hear the lyrics to “Again,” this seasoned pianist seems to get across the implied apology to a loved one for a senseless quarrel. “Dance Only With Me,” an overlooked jewel by the masterful songwriting team of Comden, Green, and Styne, is arranged as an elegant, deliberate waltz. Recorded and mixed in glorious 24-bit digital sound, this is easily one of Eddie Higgins’ best all-around recordings.
By Ken Dryden.
Eddie Higgins Edward,February 21, 1932 in the United States born in Cambridge, Massachusetts.
Childhood education has been his by his mother. University, Higgins played in Chicago’s nightclub piano. Sometimes he led his own trio combinations, but sometimes, and include Aiergelei, Freddie Hubbard, etc., well-known artists to perform.Although his track has the feeling of compromise, but Higgins’s style dance band era bears obvious traces of a number of artists.He was good also good at solo accompaniment, he often with his wife Mere Di Sidan Brosio singer to perform.
As Venus Records’s most popular general, Eddie Higgins and SCOTT HAMILTON (saxophone), STEVE GILMORE (bass), BILL GOODWIN (drums) have launched cooperation with the Quartet had a lot of classic albums.Although Bop concert started, EddieHiggins Quartet’s work was absolutely no difficulty in absorbing the taste of Eddie Higgins respect for playing the melody mode allows you to clearly recall the familiar song melodies. Eddie Higgins treatment for slow songs really Marketer, softly playing the piano but also be able to take into account the mellow tone and rhythm accurately draw the line, listening to people drunk.
Eddie Higgins’s piano playing, such as the pure white moonlight, lightly touch the slumbering ear, wake-up long-silent loneliness of the soul ……
01. When You Wish Upon A Star 3:54
02. My Funny Valentine 5:39
03. Detour Ahead 5:50
04. Beautiful Love 3:26
05. Dance Only With Me 4:00
06. Danny Boy 5:07
07. All This And Heaven Too 4:27
08. Yellow Days 4:38
09. Skylark 4:01
10. Again 4:12
11. You Don’t Know What Love Is 5:28
12. Over The Rainbow 4:16

Continue reading