Archive for the Esther PHILLIPS Category

Esther PHILLIPS – Release Me! 1962

Posted in BLUES, Esther PHILLIPS on November 20, 2010 by whoisthemonk

Esther PHILLIPS – Release Me! 1962
2006 Issue.


The title ballad was originally a country & western classic, interpreted soulfully by Phillips.
By Bill Dahl, All Music Guide.

Another PEARL…
Featuring highlights of THE COUNTRY SIDE OF ESTHER and her SET ME FREE album (both of which are also available as a budget-priced twofer), RELEASE ME contains many examples of the R&B singer Esther Phillips’s versatility. Included are one of her first hits, “Double Crossing Blues,” and the rocking “Mojo Hanna,” as well as more country-oriented material like the title track and “I Really Don’t Want to Know.”
01. Release me (3:27)
02. Mojo Hannah (2:21)
03. I Really Don’t Want to Know (2:01)
04. Tomorrow Night (3:30)
05. Double Crossing Blues (2:40)
06. Hello Walls (3:25)
07. Just Out Of Reach (3:07)
08. Catch Me I’m Falling (2:30)
09. I Can’t Help It (3:05)
10. I’m in Love (2:21)

Continue reading