Archive for the George THOROGOOD Category

George THOROGOOD and The Destroyers – Maverick 1985

Posted in BLUES, George THOROGOOD on November 17, 2010 by whoisthemonk

George THOROGOOD and The Destroyers – Maverick 1985


George Thorogood is forever consistent and Maverick is more of the blues/rock driving sound the journeyman guitarist is known for. John Lee Hooker’s “Crawling King Snake” is what you expect from this crew while “Memphis, Tennessee” bursts at …    Full Descriptionthe seams with George’s trademark slide and Hank Carter’s saxophone. Recorded at the legendary Dimension Sound Studio in July of 1984 on the outskirts of Boston, the earthy sound catches all the band’s primal energy from opener “Gear Jammer” to the wailing sax of “Long Gone.” There are only four originals from Thorogood, the album chock full of Johnny Otis, Chuck Berry, Carl Perkins, John Lee Hooker and others. It is territory that the group has covered on pretty much every previous record, but it’s done with the artistic passion that makes it real. The vocal on “What a Price” full of torment, it’s a nice contrast to the rocking numbers. Beat Goes. 2004.
Cd Universe.
By Martin Lemos
MAVERICK is an awesome mix of rock, blues and country are mixed into one potent drink. This album has the classic GEORGE THOROGOOD tunes: GEAR JAMMER, I DRINK ALONE, LONG GONE. Every fan of the band knows this songs, but what we also have are some lesser known tracks such as: WILLIE AND THE HAND JIVE, MAVERICK, MEMPHIS, MARIE, WOMAN WITH THE BLUES and the John Lee Hooker classic CRAWLING KING SNAKE. If you are a fan of this group, than this is a must to have in your collection. Get it while you can, this album can be really hard to find and there doesn’t seem to be alot of copies floting around. You wont be disappointed, trust me.
By Martin Lemos.
George Thorogood- Guitar, Vocals
Hank Carter- Sax, Harmony Vocals
Billy Blough- Bass
Jeff Simon- Drums
01. Gear Jammer 4:33
02. I Drink Alone 4:30
03. Willie and the Hand Jive 4:01
04. What a Price 2:43
05. Long Gone 4:28
06. Dixie Fried 3:40
07. Crawling King Snake 4:09
08. Memphis / Marie 5:48
09. Woman With the Blues 3:30
10. Go Go Go 3:28
11. The Ballad of Maverick 2:04
Please Donate