Archive for the Iceman ROBINSON Category

Iceman ROBINSON – I´ve Never Been Loved 2000

Posted in BLUES, Iceman ROBINSON on December 17, 2010 by whoisthemonk

Iceman ROBINSON – I´ve Never Been Loved 2000


The second new Fedora release comes from Chicago guitarist Iceman Robinson. On I’ve Never Been Loved, we see an artist who has honed his craft in many nights in rough and tumble blues clubs around the Windy City. This is back alley blues in the same style of Magic Slim, Hound Dog Taylor and Lil’ Ed. The uptempo blues shuffle “Chicago Lakefront” is so true to the Chicago style that I could feel the lake wind-chill all the way down here in Arizona. Robinson’s guitar sounds best when he’s playing it with his slide, as on the Elmore James-inspired instrumental “Robinson’s Rock.” “Baby How Long” is similar to Wolf’s version of the same song, but Robinson’s voice is cleaner than Wolf’s. The only other covers on I’ve Never Been Loved are a pair of Hound Dog Taylor numbers, “My Baby’s Comin’ Home” and “Sadie,” both which again show off Robinson’s mastery with the slide. Listening to this CD might inspire me to hop the next flight to Chicago for the kind of blues that you just can’t get anywhere else in the world.
Excellent first album by Riler “Iceman” Robinson, who has been on the Chicago Blues scene for many years. The CD contains a nice cross section of covers and originals in the style of Elmore James, Hound Dog Taylor and Muddy Waters. Nice slide guitar work from Robinson throughout. Hats Off to Fedora records for releasing new material by under-recorded Blues artists like Iceman, J.J. Malone, Hosea Levy and Matthew Robinson. The best part is the way the albums are produced, they just bring these artists into the studio and let them do what they do. The result is albums that sound just like what you would hear if you saw them perform live in a club. Keep it up, guys!
By Bobby.
Riler “Iceman” Robinson- (Vocals, Guitar);
Frank Goldwasser- (Guitar);
Willie Kent- (Bass);
Chris Millar- (Drums).
01. My Baby’s Comin’ Home 4:55
02. Sadie 3:48
03. Too Old a Cat 5:47
04. Chicago Lakefront 3:41
05. Iceman’s Boogie 4:19
06. I Have a Need 4:18
07. I’ve Never Been Loved 4:15
08. Workin’ Man 4:51
09. Baby How Long 3:36
10. Robinson’s Rock 5:17
11. Waitin’ On Baby 3:15

Continue reading