Archive for the Jackson DELTA Category

Jackson DELTA – Lookin' Back 1991

Posted in BLUES, Jackson DELTA on December 26, 2010 by whoisthemonk

Jackson DELTA – Lookin’ BackĀ  1991


This independently produced CD is just great. It was recorded live and sounds more immediate and present than 98% of live records. The performances are loose, fun, and honest, with great playing all around. There is nothing precious or falsely authentic about this R&B-flavored record. The best cuts are “My Mistake” and “My Ears Keep Hearing Voices”
By Richard Meyer. AAJ.
A Profile of Jackson Delta, Jackson Delta emerged – after almost 15 years of work in coffee houses, clubs, colleges, concert halls and festivals – as a world-class acoustic roots/blues band.
The trio of Alan Black (drums, harmonica), Rick Fines (guitars) and Gary Peeples (guitars) has taken its own brand of basic, emotive, stripped-down music to enthusiastic audiences from the Mississippi Delta to the Mackenzie Delta.
“Jackson Delta grew out of rock n roll bands that Al and Gary and I played in. On our off nights we would get together to play acoustic blues.” – Rick Fines.
Blending the traditional sounds of the rural south with their own contemporary songwriting, this is a band with rare depth, passion, and finesse. And when the three residents of Peterborough, Ontario named their band after the Jackson Creek, which flows into Little Lake right beside the downtown Holiday Inn, they indicated that their music has a home-grown wit as well.
Jackson Delta’s first hint of a strong future was in 1988, when the trio placed third in the new talent contest for the National Blues Awards, and cut their first album in the famed Sun Studios in Memphis – in a single hour. The resulting tape, Delta Sunrise, is a collector’s item these days as only 250 copies were pressed.
The follow-up album, Acoustic Blues (nominated for Best Roots/Traditional at the 1990 Juno awards), was recorded a year later. This independently released album was just what the band needed to trigger interest among club bookers, concert promoters and festival organizers. Since then the band has hardly paused for breath.
The band’s third album,** Lookin’ Back **, continued the trio’s exploration of the blues tradition, but was markedly different in that all but two pieces were original tunes. A fourth album resulted from a live session cut with pianist Gene Taylor at the Ultrasound Showbar in Toronto in the spring of 1992. Titled I Was Just Thinking That… the record brought the band their second Juno nomination.
Jackson Delta has performed at virtually every important folk, jazz and blues festival across the country, toured with Muddy Waters veteran piano man Pinetop Perkins and performed with Colleen Peterson, Mose Scarlett, Ken Hamm and many others.
01. Lookin’ Back 4:15
02. Fool In Love 3:37
03. Goin’ Back To Memphis 3:40
04. My Mistake 3:50
05. Honey, What’s Wrong With You 4:00
06. My Ears Keep Hearing Voices 3:00
07. Little Sister’s Gonna Be Alright 2:54
08. The Feel Of Uncertainty 3:45
09. Silly Rules 2:50
10. Unpaid Bills Blues 3:15
11. I Sleep With A Ghost 5:00
12. Crazy (About You) 3:30
13. Worried Life 4:25
Continue reading