Archive for the Lito Blues Band Category

Lito Blues Band – Presentacion 2003

Posted in BLUES, Lito Blues Band on December 2, 2010 by whoisthemonk

Lito Blues Band – Presentacion  2003


This cat.. no need any Bullshit.
Simply, he is the  best of all Bluesman on the cost of Spain.
By themonk.
The renowned Lito Blues Band, called as the Gran Lito Blues Band at Route66, was started in Malaga in 1989 by the very accomplished guitarist Lito Fernandez.
A native of Malaga, born in 1953, Lito began his career as a guitarist in the 60s with various Malaga based bands, before forming his own Lito Blues Band, probably the best known blues band in the area. In 1991 and 1992 he played in Europe Big Jack Johnson, Richard Ray Farrell and Luther Allison, and played in a backing band for Aretha Franklin.
The Lito Blues Band were one of the very first bands involved in the famous Route66 Club in Fuengirola/Malaga in the 1990s, and Lito was good enough to pass on a lot of his skills and knowledge to some of the up and coming young guitarists also appearing at “The Route” – from bands such as Trio Del Saco, Mama Kin etc.
They were also the headline band at the first Monda Blues Festival and have since also played at the Mijas Blues festival, Antequera Blues Festival, the Festival de Jazz de Granada, the XI Getxo Blues Festival accompanying the former Rolling Stones Mick Taylor, and countless other festivals, as well as appearing on Spanish TV and radio.
In 2006 Lito performed live on Onda Cero International in Marbella on the Terry Clear “Clear Blues” radio programme in a jam session with Kat Pearson Thomas and the great 60s legend Arthur Brown.

His music is still World Class – the vocals initially were provided by Lito himself, but they are now provided by the present vocalist New Yorker Suzette Montcrief, who took over the position from Kat Pearson Thomas when she formed her own band.
The new band also includes one of the best bass players on the coast, Alberto…..
The band can be seen and heard on
By Terr Clear. (MR.FatAss).
Lito Fernandez- Guitar, Vocals
Suzette Moncrief- Vocals
Agustin Carrillo- Saxo y Flauta
Tony Romero- Keyboard
Javier Martin Aguilar(Gran Calvo)- Bass
Ramon Baena- Drums

01. Pedregalejo (5:36)
02. Version Two (3:00)
03. Cold Shout (4:58)
04. Don’t Take Advantage Of Me (4:56)
05. Hard Way To Go (3:59)
06. Funky Dunky (5:40)
07. Little Wing (4:33)
08. Running Out Of Me (3:49)
09. The Very Thing That Makes You (4:57)
10. You Cut Me To The Bone (4:23)
11. Reconsider Baby (4:25)
12. Presentacion (2:17)

Continue reading