Archive for the Lucky THOMPSON Category

Lucky THOMPSON – Modern Jazz Group, Jazz in Paris 1956

Posted in JAZZ, Lucky THOMPSON on November 18, 2010 by whoisthemonk

Lucky THOMPSON – Modern Jazz Group, Jazz in Paris 1956
2003 Issue.


Lucky Thompson was very active in the recording studios during his 1956 visit to France; this CD in Verve’s attractive Jazz in Paris reissue series features the big toned tenor saxophonist with both a quartet and a tentet. Thompson’s lush sound in sensitive interpretations of “The Man I Love” and the less familiar ballad “There’s No You” brings Ben Webster to mind. Thompson’s original “Tight Squeeze” is an up-tempo jump blues which showcases his harder blowing, more boppish side; while the venerable standard “Gone With the Wind” is a brisk swinger. Pianist Henri Renaud leads the potent rhythm section. The tentet session is less memorable. All of the songs were written by Renaud, and while they are comparable to much of the output of so-called “cool school” of the period, they tend to be a little too conservative. Still, Thompson’s playing is at a high label throughout both dates, so bop fans should invest in this enjoyable CD.
By Ken Dryden, All Music Guide-
Some of Lucky Thompson’s rarest work from the 50s — and some of his best! The American tenorist is working here in two different French groups one a quintet with Henri Renaud on piano, the other a tentet with the core quartet of Renaud, plus some additional local horn players. Unlike some of Thompson’s other albums from the time, which can frequently be dominated by standards, this set’s got some great original material  mostly written by Renaud, and infused with a sharp modernist swing. Tiltes include “Souscription”, “Marcel Le Fourreur”, “G&B”, “Tight Squeeze”, “Meet Quincy Jones”, and “Influence”. Lucky’s tone is rich and soulful and the session’s gone to the top of our list of his work!
From Dusty Groove.
Lucky Thompson- Tenor Sax
Piano- Henri Renaud
Alto Sax- Teddy Hameline (tracks: 2, 4, 5, 7, 9)
Baritone Sax- William Boucaya (tracks: 2, 4, 5, 7, 9)
Tenor Sax- Jean-Louis Chautemps (tracks: 2, 4, 5, 7, 9) ,
Trombone- Benny Vasseur (tracks: 2, 4, 5, 7, 9)
Trumpet- Fred GĂ©rard (tracks: 2, 4, 5, 7, 9)
Double Bass- Benoit Quersin
Drums- Christian Garros (tracks: 1, 3, 6, 8) , Roger Paraboschi (tracks: 2, 4, 5, 7, 9)
01. The Man I Love 4:40
02. Souscription 4:36
03. There’s No You 4:44
04. Influence 4:04
05. Marcel Le Fourreur 3:39
06. Tight Squeeze 2:40
07. Meet Quincy Jones 3:49
08. Gone With The Wind 2:59
09. G And B 4:18

Continue reading