Archive for the Martin TAYLOR Category

Martin TAYLOR & David GRISMAN Jazz Quartet – I'm Beginning To See The Light 1999

Posted in David GRISMAN, JAZZ, Martin TAYLOR on November 26, 2010 by whoisthemonk

Martin TAYLOR & David GRISMAN Jazz Quartet – I’m Beginning To See The Light 1999


Picking up where they left off with 1995’s duet recording Tone Poems II, mandolin master David Grisman and guitar great Martin Taylor blithely saunter through a dozen jazz staples. Taylor’s playing boasts a blues-soaked intensity and insouciant fire that isn’t normally associated with the willowy and refined soloist, while Grisman showcases a wide variety of adventurous ideas, but at no time do the issues seem forced. The sympathetic and delicate rhythmic support of bassist Jim Kerwin and drummer George Marsh contributes to the air of easygoing delight. Taylor even picks up the mandolin himself on a hidden “keepsake.”
By Marc Greilsamer.
Some musicians, like fine chefs, make it look so easy. David Grisman is one of them. On the CD, “I’m Beginning to See the Light,” the prolific mandolinist extraordinaire is joined by Scottish guitar virtuoso Martin Taylor and veteran Grisman Quintet members Jim Kerwin and George Marsh (on bass and drums/percussion, respectively) for one hot little album. While the song list is comprised of many well-loved standards, such as “Autumn Leaves,” “Makin’ Whoopee,” “Lover Man,” and “Cheek to Cheek,” the Taylor/Grisman Quartet seems to have so much fun preparing its stew and adds enough incredible seasonings to the pot to make Emeril shout, “Bam!” As Don Stierberg, who penned the liner notes, says: “Music need not be trendy to be great.” I wholeheartedly agree.
By C.A. Carlino.
Martin Taylor- Guitar
David Grisman- Mandolin
Jim Kerwin- Bass
George Marsh- Drums
01. I’m Beginning To See The Light (4:03)
02. Autumn Leaves (4:24)
03. Do You Know What It Means (To Miss New Orleans?) (5:12)
04. East Of The Sun (4:46)
05. Autumn In New York (4:42)
06. Makin’ Whoopee (5:45)
07. Lover Man (5:29)
08. Excatly Like You (4:05)
09. Willow Weep For Me (7:07)
10. A Foggy Day (4:21)
11. Cheek To Cheek (5:11)
12. Bewitched, Bothered, and Bewildered (11:03)

Continue reading