Archive for the Mississippi Heat Category

Mississippi Heat – Straight From The Heart 1992

Posted in BLUES, Mississippi Heat on December 2, 2010 by whoisthemonk

Mississippi Heat – Straight From The Heart 1992


Notes Despite the name, Mississippi Heat is a Chicago blues band; it was founded in 1992 by Belgian harmonica player Pierre Lacocque, who has been resident in Chicago since 1969. The band has gone through a series of personnel changes during its existence; that, and the presence on CD of numerous guest musicians, means that MH sometimes seems more like blues revue than a conventional band. This doesn’t make Lacocque the Johnny Otis of the Midwest, but there’s no doubting his energetic promotional and organizational skills, his songwriting talent or his mastery of his instrument. The originality of the group lies in its attempt to deliver a unique group sound rather than to highlight a specific artist. The band displays a dynamic force, as is exemplified in the eleven original songs on this, his first records. This is his solid mainstream Chicago outfit.
Led by virtuoso Pierre Lacocque on harp, this Chicago-based band focusses on ensemble work. Every instrument collaborates to create a weave that harks from the days of Howlin’ wolf, Muddy Waters and Jimmy Rogers. On this album, Barrelhouse Chuck adds on the piano what Otis Spann, Little Brother Montgomery and Leroy Carr gave us in the 50’s. Carl Weathersby and Chris Winters work magic on the guitar and Kenny Smith keeps the pulse on drums like his father (Willie Smith) did for 15 years with Muddy Waters. Pierre wrote most of the material and blows powerfuk and melodic harp. Billy Boy calls him a virtuoso and Niles Frantz of WBEZ’s Chicago Public radio calls him a budding legend. Katherine Davis sings her heart out; Billy Boy Arnold and George Baze sing several tunes with great conviction and Zora Young swings us in her inimitable Chicago blues style for a great song. George Baze died shortly after the studio recording and before the release of this CD. It is dedicated to his memory.
Pierre LACOCQUE- Harmonica
Robert Covington- Drums, vocals tr.1,7,8;
Billy Flynn- Guitar & slide guitar tr.2,10 vocals tr.3,4,10
Bob Stroger- Bass;
James Wheeler- Guitar, vocal tr.11,12
Guest Stars;
Calvin Jones- Vocals tr.6;
Sam Lay- Drums tr. 3,4,6,
01. Lovin’ You – 413
02. Midnight Ride – 422
03. Leavin’ Town – 322
04. She Knows What Love Is About – 357
05. No Sorrows – 250
06. Ruby Mae – 340
07. Heartbroken – 736
08. Straight From The Heart – 538
09. I Wish You’d Stay – 350
10. Lonely Without You – 432
11. Bad Luck – 404
12. Mother-In-Law Blues – 446
13. Mississippi Heat – 457

Continue reading