Archive for the Oscar PETERSON Category

Oscar PETERSON – A Night In Vienna 2003 (AVI)

Posted in JAZZ, MOVIES, Oscar PETERSON on December 7, 2010 by whoisthemonk

Oscar PETERSON – A Night In Vienna 2003 (AVI)
Recorded in Vienna, Austria on Friday, November 21st, 2003.


Oscar Peterson’s greatness as a musician is beyond question. Yes, on A Night in Vienna you can see and hear some of the debilitating effects of the stroke he suffered in 1993. Many of the blues licks he played that are so familiar to my ears are missing here because of the weakness in his left hand.

That said, this performance, and the DVD in general, moves me deeply. I too miss Peterson at the height of his powers. I miss Ray Brown and E. Thigpen, and the trio juggernaut they created. However, Peterson is showing us here that we can’t live in the past.

To say that this DVD shouldn’t have been released due to Oscar’s difficulty with some musical passages is like telling 91 year old Hank Jones to quit playing piano because of the serious heart surgery he had a few years ago. It is not a fair request for people to make. If Oscar didn’t want the DVD released, I’m sure that a musician of his stature could have prevented it. As made clear by the accompanying documentary’s title alone, musicians have to keep the groove alive-no matter the adversity. It’s actually a matter of life and death. I don’t like cliches, but this one fits: If you want to see how life and art intersect for a great musician and fully mature man, this DVD is a great one to have.
By James Denson.
One of life’s experiences is growing older. Another is growing wiser. I, for one, am grateful that Oscar Peterson’s DVD A Night In Vienna was made, because we get one last chance to see Oscar performing as an older, wiser musician. While it did bring tears, it was for the beauty of the music, not because his virtuosity was not what it used to be. I have been an Oscar Peterson fan since the 60s. I have attended several live concerts in the 70s and 80s. He could play difficult riffs faster than just about anyone. But the magic for me was always in the slower, more introspective numbers. And nothing I have heard outdoes Requiem on this DVD for depth of feeling. Yes, Oscar has slowed down, but the joy in his playing still comes through every song. And it is so gratifying to see this 78-year old, who started playing music as a child prodigy, still enjoying good music among friends at an age when most of us are long retired. I watched this DVD back-to-back with his ’77 DVD, Jazz in Montreux, and I find the 2003 session even more satisfying due to its relaxed atmosphere and depth of feeling. This may be the last concert Oscar recorded for DVD, and it is a worthy tribute to this jazz legend. The quality of image and sound are excellent.
Oscar Peterson- (Piano)
Ulf Wakenius- (Guitar)
Niels-Henning Orsted Pedersen- (Bass)
Martin Drew- (Drums)
01. Falling in Love With Love
02. Nighttime
03. When Summer Comes
04. Cakewalk
05. Requiem
06. Sushi
07. Wheatland
08. The Backyard Blues
09. Satin Doll
10. Sweet Georgia Brown

Continue reading


Oscar PETERSON – Pastel Moods 1954

Posted in JAZZ, Oscar PETERSON on November 25, 2010 by whoisthemonk

Oscar PETERSON – Pastel Moods 1954
2005 Issue.


The Peterson-Ellis-Brown trio, which often toured with JATP, was one of jazz’s great combos from 1953-1958. Their complex yet swinging arrangements were competitive — Ellis and Brown were always trying to outwit and push the pianist — and consistently exciting. In 1958, when Ellis left the band, it was decided that no other guitarist could fill in so well, and he was replaced (after a brief stint by Gene Gammage) by drummer Ed Thigpen.
Oscar Peterson- (Piano)
Ray Brown- (Bass)
Herb Ellis- (Guitar)
01. You Go To My Head 3:53
02. They Can’t Take That Away From Me 2:37
03. There’s A Small Hotel 2:25
04. You Turned The Tables On Me 3:08
05. These Foolish Things (Remind Me Of You) 3:21
06. I Can’t Get Started 2:57
07. Blue Moon 2:37
08. East Of The Sun (And West Of The Moon) 2:57
09. My Old Flame 3:13
10. I Don’t Stand A Ghost Of A Chance With You 3:07
11. Serenade In Blue 2:36
12. Sweet Lorraine 2:55
13. Angel Eyes 2:55
14. Unforgettable 3:15
15. Moonglow 2:38

Continue reading

Oscar PETERSON – Oscar Peterson Trio + One Clark TERRY 1964

Posted in Clark TERRY, JAZZ, Oscar PETERSON on November 18, 2010 by whoisthemonk

Oscar PETERSON – Oscar Peterson Trio + One Clark TERRY 1964
2007 Issue.


Some guest soloists get overshadowed by Oscar Peterson’s technical prowess, while others meet him halfway with fireworks of their own; trumpeter Clark Terry lands in the latter camp on this fine 1964 session. With drummer Ed Thigpen and bassist Ray Brown providing solid support, the two soloists come off as intimate friends over the course of the album’s ten ballad and blues numbers. And while Peterson shows myriad moods, from Ellington’s impressionism on slow cuts like “They Didn’t Believe Me” to fleet, single-line madness on his own “Squeaky’s Blues,” Terry goes in for blues and the blowzy on originals like “Mumbles” and “Incoherent Blues”; the trumpeter even airs out some of his singularly rambling and wonderful scat singing in the process. Other highlights include the rarely covered ballad “Jim” and the even more obscure “Brotherhood of Man” from the Broadway musical How to Succeed in Business Without Really Trying. A very engaging and enjoyable disc.
By Stephen Cook, All Music Guide.
I knew that this priceless session had recently seen a domestic reissue, but try as I might I couldn’t do better than scare up previous, pricey oop editions, Japanese imports, the other session with Oscar and Clark Terry (perhaps equally worthy, but I wanted the “Mumbles” date for a grand child). Whatever’s awry with Amazon’s search protocol, if you’ve found this page, that’s half the battle. Amazon’s One-Click purchase system makes the rest a piece of cake.

The session is worth owning even though these musicians are so familiar to most listeners by now the proceedings are pretty much as expected. On the other hand, I had assumed Oscar would be in his “quiet and deferential” mode, taking it as easy on Clark as possible. Forget that. Clark takes the initiative and motivates the trio to match him stride for rollicking stride. Oscar is not simply doing his Verve “house pianist” thing for Norman Granz but is fully engaged in the humor, good spirits, and downright swinging earthiness of the proceedings. And no question that Ray Brown and Ed Thigpen are having an equally good time.

Definitely one of Oscar’s better studio albums as an accompanist and a session that kids of all ages deserve to hear. C.T. is equally communicative on the horn (sometimes two of them) as well as his “mumbles mode,” and besides playing pretty fair piano, Oscar himself is, as usual, prone to his own non-musical vocalizations.

(Minor quibble: the documentation with this edition–mine, at least–is spartan, to say the least. This meeting deserves far better–a description of the pre-recording circumstances as well as the session itself and perhaps even some after-history of this foursome.)
By  Samuel Chell.
Piano- Oscar Peterson
Trumpet, Flugelhorn- Clark Terry
Bass- Ray Brown
Drums- Ed Thigpen
01. Brotherhood Of Man (3:34)
02. Jim (2:59)
03. Blues For Smedley (6:53)
04. Roundalay (3:54)
05. Mumbles (2:01)
06. Mack The Knife (5:16)
07. They Didn’t Believe Me (4:18)
08. Squeaky’s Blues (3:27)
09. I Want A Little Girl (5:08)
10. Incoherent Blues (2:41)

Continue reading