Archive for the Red MITCHELL Category

Clark TERRY & Red MITCHELL – To Duke and Basie 1986

Posted in Clark TERRY, JAZZ, Red MITCHELL on December 17, 2010 by whoisthemonk

Clark TERRY & Red MITCHELL – To Duke and Basie 1986
1997 Issue.


Flugelhornist Clark Terry and bassist Red Mitchell play a full program of duets, with most of the music being associated with either Count Basie or Duke Ellington. Actually, the most remembered selection of the date is C.T.’s humorous Hey Mr. Mumbles, What Did You Say, which has a call-and-response vocal by the two masterful musicians. Overall, this is a particularly delightful set, with plenty of wit displayed along with the hard swinging.
By Scott Yanow, All Music Guide.
Only two musicians might not be considered to be enough to give the aura of the big band era to the contemporary digital listener, but these two masters have done that and much more.
This imaginative, swinging and at times melancholic music will satisfy all fans of swing and mainstream and, yes, both musicians sing on few occasions. Naturally, Terry’s horns are the main attraction of this CD (based on Terry’s memories on times spent with Ellington and Basie), but the bass is equally challenging and swinging.
By Nikica Gilic.
Clark Terry- Trumpet, Fugelhorn,Vocal
Red Mitchell- Bass, Piano, Vocal
01. It Don’t Mean A Thing If It Ain’t Got That Swing 3:25
02. Swingin’ The Blues 2:54
03. I’ve Got It Bad And That Ain’t Good 5:50
04. Moten Swing 4:42
05. Hey Mr. Mumbles, What Did You Say? 4:23
06. Big ‘N’ The Bear 2:11
07. Shiny Stockings 4:50
08. C-Jam Blues 4:12
09. Thank You For Everything 5:29
10. It Don’t Mean A Thing If It Ain’t Got That Swing 2:31

Continue reading


Herb ELLIS & Red MITCHELL – Doggin Around 1988

Posted in Herb ELLIS, JAZZ, Red MITCHELL on November 23, 2010 by whoisthemonk

Herb ELLIS & Red MITCHELL – Doggin Around 1988
Recorded live at The Loa, Santa Monica, California in March 1988.

After recording many albums for Concord (including the majority of the label’s first releases), Herb Ellis did not lead any sessions for seven years until this duet date with bassist Red Mitchell. Other than three originals (including Mitchell’s “Big ‘N’ and the Bear” which features the bassist’s vocal), the repertoire is taken from the swing era. The interplay by the two greats on tunes such as “Sweethearts on Parade,” a medium-tempo “Over the Rainbow,” “Lady Be Good” and Mitchell’s “Life’s a Take” plus the classic cover drawing by cartoonist Gary Larson (depicting a jazz club run by and for dogs called “The Stuffed Cat”) are good reasons to acquire this high-quality straightahead session.
By Scott Yanow, All Music Guide.
Guitarist Herb Ellis, 88, has died. He got his big break as a member of the Oscar Peterson Trio 1953-58 then accompanied him in several years, Ella Fitzgerald. Together with fellow Barney Kessel, and Charlie Byrd he formed in the late 70’s the group Great Guitars. A duosamarbete with Red Mitchell in 1988 resulted in the album “Doggin ‘Around” (Concord). Another groovy disc example “is” Rhythm Willie “(Concord), which is heard by Herb Ellis Basiegitarristen Freddie Green.
Herb Ellis Guitar
Red Mitchell Bass, Vocals
01. Sweethearts on Parade Lombardo, Newman 3:54
02. I’m Confessin’ (That I Love You) Daugherty, Neiburg, Reynolds 4:45
03. There’s No Bad Blues Ellis 5:08
04. Easy Living Rainger, Robin 4:13
05. Over the Rainbow Arlen, Harburg 6:51
06. Oh, Lady Be Good Gershwin, Gershwin 4:35
07. Willow Weep for Me Ronell 4:15
08. Big ‘N’ and the Bear Mitchell 4:47
09. Mean to Me Ahlert, Turk 5:58
10. Life’s a Take Mitchell 3:27
11. Blue Moon Hart, Rodgers 3:24
12. Old Folks Hill, Robison 4:38

Continue reading