Archive for the Ronnie SCOTT Category

Ronnie SCOTT and Tubby HAYES – The Jazz Couriers in Concert 1958

Posted in JAZZ, Ronnie SCOTT, Tubby HAYES on December 14, 2010 by whoisthemonk

Ronnie SCOTT and Tubby HAYES – The Jazz Couriers in Concert 1958
MFP 1072. February 16 1958.


Although the Jazz Couriers are widely held to be the finest and most influential of British bebop/hard-bop bands, little recorded material by the group has been available in recent years. Add to this the paucity of available solo releases by the two men who led the Couriers, tenor saxophonist and vibraphonist Tubby Hayes and fellow tenor player Ronnie Scott, and you have two good reasons why this reissue from Ember Records, which pairs the band’s debut studio session from August 1957 with a live recording from February 1958, is so welcome.
It’s no secret that Hayes and Scott modelled their band on Art Blakey’s Jazz Messengers.
He furnishes with a shimmering solo. Of the live tracks, “Some of My Best Friends Are Blues” is an instantly memorable 12-bar blues by Scott, who contributes a couple of frenzied solo choruses. Pianist Terry Shannon raises his game in response and his solo is fluid, intelligent and soulful. “The Serpent” crawls on its belly, its Latin rhythms helping it insinuate itself in the mind after just one listen. The album closes with Hayes’ witty, blaring arrangement of Irving Berlin’s “Cheek to Cheek”, in which the whole outfit breathes fire.

No mere Messengers clones, the Couriers took Blakey’s hard-bop template and stamped their own identity on it, aided by Hayes’ fresh compositions and arrangements and the judicious use of Tubby’s vibes. Today, Hayes is credited with a crucial role in establishing British modern jazz as a credible force. Although similarly fêted, Scott is known more as a club owner and jazz proselytizer than as a superb player and composer of talent.
Ronnie Scott- Tenor
Tubby Hayes- Tenor
Terry Shannon- Piano
Phil Bates- Bass
Bill Eyden- Drums
A1. What is This Thing Called Love
A2. Some of My Best Friends are Blues
A3. The Serpent
B1. Guys and Dolls
B2. Time Was
B3. Speak Low
B4. Cheek to Cheek

Continue reading


Tubby HAYES & Ronnie SCOTT – The Couriers of Jazz! 1958

Posted in JAZZ, Ronnie SCOTT, Tubby HAYES on November 25, 2010 by whoisthemonk

Tubby HAYES & Ronnie SCOTT – The Couriers of Jazz! 1958


Recorded for the US Carlton label in November 1958 this was the first release for the Jazz Couriers in America and their third album. For some reason they were re-titled as the ‘Couriers of Jazz’ for this release rather than the usual ‘Jazz Couriers’.
The Couriers lasted until August 1959 and broke up after a concert in Cork, Eire claiming staleness and a need for change. The musicians went their various ways and formed other equally successful groups. This fine album finds them at the top of their form.
There were also new instrumental and bandleading departures. In 1957, Tubby had taken up the vibes after Vic Feldman had bequeathed his instrument to him before his return to the United States. With typical precocity, less than six months later Tubby was recording on them and sounding for all the world like Milt Jackson (on Reunion from the Jazz Couriers first LP). The vibraphone increasingly became Tubby’s ballad instrument of choice. My Funny Valentine and Time Was from the Couriers’ book and Young and Foolish and Embers from the quartet’s repertoire were telling examples of his early skill with the mallets. With the quintet Tubby extended his virtuosity to exquisitely chorded four part harmony renditions of songs such as But Beautiful and Spring Can Really Hang You Up the Most, but while many observers found Tubby to be far more limited (and often more lyrical) upon this second instrument, there are plenty of on-record examples of a far harder hitting approach to the vibes. The title track of Down In the Village contains a technically impeccable solo, with many of Hayes’ familiar tenor phrases woven into its fabric. However, although Tubby could have easily secured his reputation on vibes alone, he eventually abandoned the instrument in 1966.
Tubby Hayes, Ronnie Scott- Tenor Sax
Terry Shannon- Piano
Jeff Clyne- Bass
Bill Eyden- Drums
01. Mirage 5:30
02. After Tea 7:55
03. Stop The World I Want To Get Off 3:49
04. In Salah 4:04
05. Star Eyes 4:11
06. The Monk 4:40
07. My Funny Valentine 6:21
08. Day In Day Out 6:04

Continue reading