Archive for the Susan TEDESCHI Category

Susan TEDESCHI Band – Better Days 1995

Posted in BLUES, Susan TEDESCHI on December 21, 2010 by whoisthemonk

Susan TEDESCHI Band – Better Days 1995


This reissue of the Boston favorite’s 1995 debut clearly highlights her greatest strength: her voice. Susan Tedeschi has been singing since she was 4 years old, and it shows; her voice has the power and control that comes from long experience. If her version of “Hound Dog” doesn’t blow the top off of Big Mama Thornton’s original, it’s still a strong effort, and she’s just as good with her own material. The title track–penned by Adrienne Hayes, guitarist for Tedeschi’s band–is especially good, as the slow tempo allows Tedeschi to stretch her pipes a bit. Unfortunately, even by the release of Just Won’t Burn, Tedeschi’s guitar hadn’t caught up with her voice, and the discrepancy is even more obvious here–there’s a spark, but it doesn’t quite catch fire. Still, there’s no question that her heart’s in the right place, and if her guitar work continues to improve, there’ll be no stopping her.
By Genevieve Williams. AMG.
Tedeschi formed the Susan Tedeschi Band in 1994 with vocalist and guitarist Adrienne Hayes. They released their Better Days album regionally in 1995. Hayes left the band shortly thereafter, replaced by young guitar prodigy Sean Costello, and Aiello would be replaced by Tom Hambridge. It was this line-up that recorded the sessions released as Just Won’t Burn in 1998. Showcasing two bright young talents in Tedeschi and Costello, favorable word-of-mouth and live performances pushed the album to sales of over 500,000 copies, earning a Gold Record and a Grammy nomination as “Best New Artist.”
Originally released in 1995, Better Days was re-released after the success of Just Won’t Burn created a legion of blues fans wanting more of Susan Tedeschi. This record finds Tedeschi’s guitar prowess and eminent vocals proliferating the musical landscape in the same manner of blues legends who have gone before her. The tracks “It Hurts Me Too” and “Ain’t Nobody’s Business” are classic slow, bluesy songs complete with emotional vocal wailings that are sure to bring the house down when performed in a live arena. She picks up the pace with “Locomotive” and “I Don’t Want Nobody,” showing off her six-string skills. While there is no question that Tedeschi is a true talent and a blues force to be reckoned with, the musical arrangements could be improved by using a less-formulaic blues structure and attempting to offer something more contemporary. She has proven herself worthy of sharing the stage with the masters; her next challenge should be to break away and create her own sound.
By Erik Crawford. AMG.
Susan Tedeschi– Guitar, Rhythm Guitar, Vocals
Adrienne Hayes– Guitar, Rhythm Guitar, Slide Guitar
Jim Lamond– Bass
Annie Raines– Harmonica
Mike Aiello- Drums
01. It’s up to You (Lamond, Tedeschi)  4:19
02. Gonna Write Him a Letter (Tedeschi)  3:05
03. Love Never Treats Me Right (Tedeschi)  2:11
04. It Hurts Me Too (James)  5:04
05. Locomotive (Tedeschi)  4:28
06. You’re on My Hair (instrumental-Tedeschi)  4:12
07. Better Days (Hayes)  6:40
08. Hound Dog (Jerry Leiber, Mike Stoller)  4:03
09. I Don’t Want Nobody (Robey)  2:58
10. Ain’t Nobody’s Business (Grainger, Robbins)  7:33
Continue reading


Derek TRUCKS and Susan TEDESCHI – Soul Stew Revival 2008

Posted in BLUES, Derek TRUCKS, Susan TEDESCHI on November 20, 2010 by whoisthemonk

Derek TRUCKS and Susan TEDESCHI – Soul Stew Revival 2008
Longwood Gardens. Kennett Square, Pa., 07/02/08


Derek Trucks and Susan Tedeschi have combined forces for a winter outing, touring together as one musical group; Derek Trucks & Susan Tedeschi Soul Stew Revival. The guitar-slinging couple – married since 2001 – have recorded on each other’s albums and toured together with their respective bands on occasion, but this will mark the first East Coast tour with the two side by side leading one amazing ensemble.
Fans can expect a mixture of material from both artists’ repertoire along with a batch of songs worked up especially for this tour, steeped in blues, roadhouse rock and American roots.

The Derek Trucks & Susan Tedeschi Soul Stew Revival consists of acclaimed slide guitarist Derek Trucks, soulful vocalist/guitarist Susan Tedeschi, saxophonist Ron Holloway from Susan’s touring outfit and current members of The Derek Trucks Band; Todd Smallie (bass), Yonrico Scott (drums), Kofi Burbridge (keys & flute) Mike Mattison (vocals), Count M’Butu (percussion). The Soul Stew will also debut Derek’s younger brother, 18 year old Duane Trucks on second drum kit. Duane graduates high school this year and will continue his “education” with older brother and sister-in-law on the road.

Both Tedeschi and Trucks are known for their amazing live performances and along with the impressive individual talents of this band, it promises to deliver a high energy night filled with new and familiar grooves.

Four-time Grammy-nominated singer, guitarist and songwriter Susan Tedeschi has maintained a busy schedule this year in support of her latest critically lauded album Hope and Desire (Verve Forecast). She’s won a large and loyal audience for her ability to craft elements of classic blues, rock, R&B, folk and gospel into a distinctly individual style that honors rootsy musical traditions without being subservient to them. Guitar Player declares that “Susan Tedeschi has got the whole package: a sultry and soulful voice, an engaging personality, a broad palette of stylistic influences, and an articulate pen that tells it like it is.”

For Trucks, already a veteran at 27, the tour with Tedeschi caps the busiest years of his career including a recent feature on the cover of the 2007 Rolling Stone ‘New Guitar Gods issue. In 2006, The Derek Trucks Band’s best-selling album to date, Songlines, prompted USA Today to hail Trucks as “possibly this generation’s greatest rock guitarist,” while the Wall Street Journal concurred that “he is the most awe-inspiring electric slide guitar player performing today.” The album also spawned Songlines Live, the group’s first-ever DVD. Trucks has taken on a number of other roles including a full time member of The Allman Brothers Band (since 1999), and his most recent gig sharing the stage with Eric Clapton as a featured soloist in his band for Clapton’s 2006/2007 world tour.
Derek Trucks- Guitar, Vocals
Susan Tedeschi- Guitar, Vocals
Todd Smallie- Bass
Kofi Burbridge-Keys & Flute
Mike Mattison- Vocals
Count M’Butu- Percussion
Duane Trucks- Drums
Yonrico Scott Drums
01. Sugar 4:04
02. Get Out of My Life 8:16
03. Glad You’re Gone 5:13
04. People People 5:14
05. Don’t Keep Me Wonderin’ 3:49
06. Cry Me A River 4:37
07. Hercules 13:36
08. Don’t Do It 5:55
09. Stand Back 7:04
10. Pack Up Our Things and Go 5:37
11. Hey Jude 5:06
12. Key to the Highway 9:43
13. The Feeling Music Brings 10:15
14. Save Me 4:36
15. I Wants to Be Loved 3:57

Continue reading