Archive for the Fleetwood Mc Category

Otis SPANN, Fleetwood Mac – The Biggest Thing Since Colossus 1969

Posted in BLUES, Fleetwood Mc, Otis SPANN on December 2, 2010 by whoisthemonk

Otis SPANN, Fleetwood Mac – The Biggest Thing Since Colossus 1969
1995 Issue.


The Biggest Thing Since Colossus is an album by American blues musician Otis Spann, released in 1969 (see 1969 in music). The album is also notable for the fact that Spann’s backing band on this occasion were members of Fleetwood Mac, who were touring in America at the time. Spann had been involved in the recording of the Blues Jam at Chess album, and a rapport had been struck between Spann and the British band, which led to their participation on Spann’s new album.

It was agreed beforehand that Spann’s friend and longtime associate S.P. Leary would play drums on the album, and Fleetwood Mac drummer Mick Fleetwood did not take part in the recording. Guitarists Peter Green and Danny Kirwan, and bassist John McVie all contributed to each track, and it is often claimed that Green produced some of his best playing on this album.

“Walkin'” was released as a single in some countries, with “Temperature Is Rising (98.8°F)” (a different version to that found on the album) on the B-side. Another track was recorded at the sessions, “Blues For Hippies”, which was not included on the album.
In January of 1969, British power blues quintet Fleetwood Mac came to Chess Records studios to jam with the likes of Willie Dixon, S.P. Leary, Honeyboy Edwards, and longtime Muddy Waters’ pianist Otis Spann. The sessions were so rich and fruitful that three-fifths of the Mac (specifically bassist John McVie and guitarists Peter Green and Danny Kirwin) impressed Spann enough to cut a record with them at the same sessions. While the classic “Country Girl” and a seven-minute “Someday Soon Baby” (which features a lengthy intro from Green on which Spann can be heard barely off mic telling the rest of the band to “let him play on”) ended up on the Mac’s Blues Jam at Chess double set: remaining cuts included “Dig You” and “Walkin'” and are a near perfect match of Spann’s exciting, emotive singing and the Mac’s youthful muscle. The Biggest Thing Since Colossus was released on Mac manager/producer/strongman Mike Vernon’s London-based Blue Horizon label.
By John Duffy, All Music Guide.
This CD, recorded in 1969, captures two great blues instrumentalists, pianist Otis Spann of Muddy Waters’ Chicago blues band and guitarist Peter Green of the original Fleetwood Mac, at the hight of their considerable powers. Otis Spann, perhaps THE premier blues pianist of all time, handles the vocals on all tracks, but the beauty of this record is the instrumental interplay between Spann and British blues guitarist Peter Green, a founding member of the original Fleetwood Mac band. While the tracks have a relaxed, jam session feel to them, the playing is anything but sloppy. Green’s tone and phrasing are just wonderful.
By  David Tepper.
This 10-track, 1969 reissue features Chicago blues pianist Otis Spann and includes “My Love Depends On You,” “It Was A Big Thing,” and “Dig You,” and includes Peter Green and John McVie from Fleetwood Mac.

1969 album for Columbia featuing Spann backed with S.P.Leary on drums and three early Fleetwood Mac members:guitarists Peter Green & Danny Kirwan and bassist JohnMcVie. 10 tracks, including ‘My Love Depends On You’,’Walkin” and ‘Someday Baby’.
From CD Universe.
Danny Kirwan- (Guitar),
John McVie- (Bass),
Peter Green- (Guitar),
S.P. Leary- (Drums),
Otis Spann- (Piano),Vocals.
01. My Love Depends on You (5:22)
02. Walkin’ (2:54)
03. It Was a Big Thing (3:26)
04. Temperature Is Rising (100. 2 F) (6:13)
05. Dig You (3:04)
06. No More Doggin’ (3:00)
07. Ain’t Nobody’s Business (5:15)
08. She Needs Some Loving (3:08)
09. I Need Some Air (4:40)
10. Someday Baby (3:02)

Continue reading


Peter GREEN with Fleetwood Mc – Live at the BBC 1995

Posted in BLUES, Fleetwood Mc, Peter GREEN on December 1, 2010 by whoisthemonk

Peter GREEN with Fleetwood Mc – Live at the BBC 1995
EDF CD 297
Recorded live between 1967 and 1971


Before they came to virtually define melodic Southern California rock in the late 1970s, Fleetwood Mac was a UK-based ’60s blues-rock band, their style fueled by the electric American blues of Elmore James and Muddy Waters. Back then, the Mac’s style was defined by the scorching guitar and impassioned vocals of Peter Green and the keening slide guitar of Jeremy Spencer. This three-CD set finds the band cutting loose on some of their favorite blues and early rock & roll songs, recorded live at the BBC studios between 1967 and 1971.
This album is great on a couple of levels.  One, is that close listen bears out the range of inspiration that came from Fleetwood Mac in general, and Peter Green in particular.  These guys influenced important music that would be recorded by The Beatles, Clapton, The Allman Brothers, Savoy Brown, and countless other blues based bands.  They were every bit as important to “Blues-Rock” as Zeppelin, Cream, and The Yardbirds.  They didn’t achieve the fame because they chose to stay truer to the traditions of the music than their more famous counterparts.  And while that lack of flash may have cost them sales, it sure makes for some great listening.  Peter Green, Jeremy Spencer, and Danny Kirwan are outstanding.  And with the Fleetwood/McVie backbone behind them, they rarely fail to satisfy.  There are however a couple of downsides that cause me to give 4 stars rather than 5.  The most glaring to me is that while sincere and heartfelt, a little goes a long way when it comes to Jeremy Spencer’s 50’s tributes.  I could have done with 3 or so fewer of those in favor of some more blues.  Also, the tracks tend to be somewhat shorter than what Mac fans from this era have come to enjoy.  Fewer songs, and more solos might have been better, but in all fairness, the restrictions of live radio may have contributed to that situation.  These however are small complaints in the much larger picture of great British Blues by a band that needs to be appreciated more.
Peter Green- (Vocals, Guitar);
Jeremy Spencer- (Vocals, Slide Guitar, Guitar);
Danny Kirwan- (Vocals, Guitar);
John McVie- (Bass);
Mick Fleetwood- (Drums).
Additional personnel:
Nick Pickett, Christine Perfect, Eddie Boyd.

Cd 1
01. Rattlesnake Shake   7:38
02. Sandy Mary   5:00
03. Believe My Time Ain’t Long   3:00
04. Although the Sun Is Shining   2:31
05. Only You   2:51
06. You Never Know What You’re Missing   2:52
07. Oh Well   2:26
08. Can’t Believe You Wanna Leave   3:25
09. Jenny Lee   2:19
10. Heavenly   2:37
11. When Will I Be Loved   2:13
12. When I See My Baby   2:11
13. Buddy’s Song   2:09
14. Honey Hush   3:08
15. Preachin’   3:05
16. Jumping at Shadows   2:36
17. Preachin’ Blues   1:59
18. Need Your Love So Bad   3:48

Cd 2
01. Long Grey Mare   2:53
02. Sweet Home Chicago   3:10
03. Baby Please Set a Date   2:59
04. Blues With a Feeling   2:56
05. Stop Messing Around   2:17
06. Tallahassee Lassie   3:24
07. Hang on to a Dream   2:56
08. Linda   2:03
09. Mean Mistreatin’ Mama   4:03
10. World Keeps Turning   2:39
11. I Can’t Hold Out   2:27
12. Early Morning Come   2:29
13. Albatross   2:48
14. Looking for Somebody   2:40
15. A Fool No More   3:40
16. Got to Move   2:57
17. Like Crying Like Dying   2:33
18. Man of the World   2:49

Continue reading